Two Women Not To Be Missed

I was thrilled to see one of my most influential photo mentors, Penelope Umbrico featured in the current issue of FOAM.  Not only is she an orginal and amazing artist, she has also taught some of the most talented artist’s I know at various institutions around New York.  Truthfully, I do not think my work would be half of what it is without her influence, and she really supported me at a time when I needed it most.  So I encourage you to pick up this issue. Her career has really kicked into overdrive (long overdue if you ask me) since her “Flickr Suns” installation piece was featured at the first NY Photo Festival. It was my favorite thing in that show, more of her work can be seen at her website.

And my partner in WIPNYC crime, Amy Elkins this Sat at the Carnegie Art Museum. If you are in Southern, CA, you should check it out.

Home•sick

Carnegie Art Museum is located at 424 South C Street in Oxnard, California. The opening public reception is from 4 to 7 pm on Saturday, December 12. The show runs through December to February 21.
For more information, please go to: www.trujillopaumier.com/homesick/

©Amy Elkins from the series Black is the Day, Black is the Night

Leave a comment