Your Help Needed!

After the lovely response from my last post, I have decided to appeal to the lovely and generous blogging world to create my own grant system. I was recently accepted to a very cool and exciting art event called Art in Odd Places. While they are generously taking care of the permits, press etc, they do not have the money to fund individual artist projects. So I must raise the money myself. So there are two ways you can help me make the event a reality, one is to click on the button at the bottom of the page and donate through paypal, $2, $5, $10, $25, $100, $1000, whatever you can afford to donate.

If you would like to have your name credited as a sponsor simply email me, and I will include you on the sponsor list, there is no need to include the $ amount. And one lucky person will receive a limited edition 16×20 print from the project, drawn at random. Or if you prefer, you can got to the Humble website, and purchase a lovely Cara Phillips limited edition print. If I sell out my edition, I have 1/3 of my budget.

When WIPNYC was born, what was so exciting about it to me, was the way that the internet is allowing artists to bypass the incredible amounts of red tape that go into getting even small amounts of money to support their work. I think that this is the next frontier in fostering exciting fresh ideas in photography to thrive. We spend money so readily on food, clothes, and gadgets, why is spending money on art so hard to justify? So I hope that between GG, and the generosity of my vendors I will be able to make this project a success. For more detailed info please contact me directly.

About the event:

For the past three years, thousands of New Yorkers have experienced Art in Odd Places (AiOP) intentionally and by chance. Art in Odd Places is an active exploration of the city’s public spaces, placing installation and performance art in unusual locations. The event brings art to a hugely diverse audience-and it’s free.

In October, the fourth annual AiOP will present Pedestrian on 14th Street, Manhattan – the great divider between uptown/downtown and highbrow/lowbrow. From the East River to the Hudson River, artists of all mediums will encourage the masses of daily pedestrians to rediscover this corridor of diverse commerce, including Union Square, historical site of social and political activism. Projects will explore connections between public spaces, pedestrian traffic, and ephemeral transient disruptions. Like a scavenger hunt, New Yorkers will use a map to discover art in unexpected places along this amazing street.

Proposal:

For the AIOP Pedestrian Project, I will be taking UV photographic technology and turning the lens of the female beauty culture on a larger section of the public. I will be setting up outdoor photo studios, both in Union Square & the Meatpacking district of New York City, where I will take UV portraits of people on the street. The idea is to offer them a chance to see their possible future and reconsider the fear of flaws that pervades our society. All images would be a large format and B&W.

New York is known for having photo shoots on its streets, and for being the beauty capital of the world. I like the idea of subverting the notion of a “fashion shoot” by giving everyone their moment in the lights.

Proposed Dates:
October 17th – 18th Union Square
October 24th – 25th Meatpacking District

Budget:
Estimated budget – $3600

DONATE HERE

1 thought on “Your Help Needed!”

  1. What’s five dollars more on the credit card at this point? Especially when I know where it’s going. I always love supporting other artists directly. I know what it’s like to be on the needing end.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of your project. The fashion shoot is a hot cultural commodity right now, and it needs examination.

Leave a comment