I meet Shane Lavalette at last year’s NY Photofest.  I was not only impressed with his knowledge of photography–I could not help but adore him–he is both genuine and intelligent.  So I was honored when he asked me to be a contributor to Lay Flat.  Of course I was even more flattered when I saw my list of fellow essayists.

One Credo After Another
by Tim Davis

Close Readings
by Darius Himes

The Secessionists Revisited: Artist Collectives in the Age of the Blog
by Cara Phillips

A Telephone Conversation with Mike Mandel
by Shane Lavalette

The Crisis of Experience
by Eric William Carroll

Castaways vs. Utopians
by Jason Fulford

Yesterday my copy came in the mail, and I was both impressed and inspired by what Shane has done. It is not only a great visual presentation, the essay’s are thoughtful and add to the current discussion about the nature and meaning of contemporary photography. Also, each essay offers a unique and different viewpoint.  I am even more excited to be a part of the project now that I have seen the final presentation.

I can’t wait to get some frames and create a LF installation piece for my apartment.  I know we are struggling these days, but Lay Flat is well worth it.

Purchase here and here.

Included Photographers:

Andreas Weinand, Anne Lass, Coley Brown, Debora Mittelstaedt, Ed Panar, Estelle Hanania, Gustav Almestål, Hiroyo Kaneko, Kamden Vencill, Mark McKnight, Michel Campeau, Nicolai Howalt & Trine Søndergaard, Nicola Kast, Nicholas Haggard, Shawn Records, Raimond Wouda, Richard Barnes, Thobias Fäldt, Whitney Hubbs and Yann Orhan.