For some time I have been wanting to give GG a little makeover.  I really love how other blogs are featuring posts from other sites on their sidebars, and how they post their personal news without hogging up the prime real estate. So I have finally gotten around to doing it. The holidays are the best for catching up!  There are several new blog links and categories, and a section called “elsewhere in the blogoshere” where I will put links to things I like or find interesting, post print sales, calls for entries, etc.  I always feel bad when I get emails from people asking me to post some thing for them.  While I am a big supporter of the blog community, I do think it can get pretty banal to read the same thing on every blog. Jorg Colberg has a smart policy, he just says No, to any and all requests. That way no one is singled out. The sidebar section seems like a nice happy medium.

Hopefully this all makes room for me to start writing more about photography.  This past few months there have been many things I wanted to write about, that just have fallen by the wayside in the midst of my personal work craziness.  But I am committed to writing more again,  GG has been a great balance to the stress and pressure of the rest of my photo life.

Now some photography, Amy Elkins and I were recently asked to submit work to Unseen Slideshow, an event curated and sponsored by a group of photographers in England.  The slideshow took place this past week and their website has a nice collection of work of the participants. I came across Peter Watkins work there and was quite taken but its mix of childlike color and darkness.  James Welling and Miranda Lichtenstein have both made some incredible work deconstructing the flower photo, but I think there is room for one more.

These images just makes me smile, they remind me so much of how children try to artistically recreate the world with crayons, Lego’s or finger-paints.  While they may get some of the form correct, they tend to use a kaleidoscope of bright colors.  So whatever they render, it is immediately identifiable as from the eye of under 7 set.  I tend to like work that plays with how we see the world inside of ourselves manifested through the lens.

03

05

04

final-image-web

All Images © Peter Watkins