Well the first weekend of NYC gallery scene madness is almost over, how fitting that we are expecting a tropical storm as we approach the last night of the art season kick off.  I feel terrible that the very adorable & talented Jesse Chehak may get rained on at his opening tonight at Silverstein.  The past two nights have been a great deal of fun, so nice to catch up with friends and make new ones.  I did miss many events I was hoping to attend, this was defiantly a cut yourself in two weekend.  But I did manage to catch up with the lovely Amy Stein, who’s rising star shines brighter each day.  Amy is veritable photo/art world spitfire, and her commitment and energy are inspiring. I had the pleasure of meeting Shen Wei, whose portraits & blog I have admired for some time. It was also so lovely to spend time with Ruben Natal-San Miguel of ARTmostfierce, whose enthusiasm for collecting photography is infectious.  I highly recommend his upcoming Aperture Panel, with my great friend Amani Ulu, and one of my most favorite photographer’s Brian Ulrich.  Admission is free, and there will be lots to learn about collecting art.

Collector’s Workshop: Introduction to Affordable Photography
Tuesday, September 16
6:30 p.m.
Aperture Gallery
547 West 27th Street, 4th floor
(between 10th and 11th Avenue)
New York, NY
(212) 505-5555

It was especially fun to hit the openings with my partner in crime Amy Elkins, we are both torn as to how split up evening next Friday considering we each have openings. I know I want to be there to support her, and Ofer Wolberger at their show, it is definitely worth a look:

My Other Nature
An exhibition curated by Alexander Perrelli
Friday, September 12th from 6:00–8:00 p.m.
The Camera Club of New York
336 West 37th street
New York, NY 10018-4212

Some things to check out online, Bond St gallery has a new blog written by Kate Phillips, which features interviews with contemporary photographers and art folk.  There is a great one up now with Laurel Ptak about her recent gif exhibit.  Flak Photo is currently featuring the work from the Hijacked book project.  Photoeye’s new online magazine has a nifty interactive feature that lets you preview books.  I am now obsessed and must save my pennies so I can purchase, Leadbelly: A Life in Pictures. And last, but certainly not least, congratulations to Jen Bekman on the anniversary of 20×200.  Go Jen!  You might want to head over their and pick up Jim Crow Road by Michael David Murphy or Sexworker w. client I by Kate Orne.  Ok enough of this name-dropping, lovefest schmaltz… Images from Leadbelly book via photoeye.