The launch of Women in Photography has turned out to be quite a bit more labor intensive than Amy or I expected. It is pretty amazing to think a month ago we were just starting another blog and now we have a full-fledged website. Neither one of us are getting any income out of this, so it is getting a bit challenging to devote the 2 to 4 hours (sometimes more!) a day that is needed to make this site come together. Without Amani Olu, we would not be able to do any of this. His design help and insight has been lifesaving. Humble Arts is a great organization, so we are happy to be affiliated with them.

What has really come out of this for me, is how much work & risk goes into creation. There can be nothing great accomplished without an enormous commitment of time and effort. I know how much I have put into my own work, and yet I feel there is so much more I should and can do, if only I had more time and money. But I have accomplished so much since I left school last July, sometimes I can’t believe it. But I have also worked tirelessly, and given up so much. But to me that is the core of things. Reward only comes with risk and hard work. There are too many talented people out there to think you can do less and get more. And the way you conduct yourself matters. Sometimes it may be years later, but things come back to you. At my first photo related job, I went through a lot. It was sort of like trial by fire, but I learned invaluable things. And even though it was low-paying I worked really hard. Now years later, many of those people are friends and have really helped me in my career. But I also really enjoyed working with other photographers, and that is part of why I am enjoying WIPNYC.

So Amy and I have taken a risk creating this showcase for female artists. It is a big commitment and not everyone is going to like what we are doing. There have been some comments about WIPNYC, many people have suggested that we create more of a discussion forum or wish that we would select work that have a particular agenda, I am not opposed to any of these ideas, and if someone else wants to start that up – go for it. But we wanted to create a neutral space. As an artist/curator, I am more interested in showing work to reflect what artists are thinking. I want to show work that rejects, conforms or ignores gender concerns. Because part of what makes our culture so interesting is that gender issues are not uniform. Women are all experiencing it in a different way. Some of us feel very little sense of bias, and others lives are very much shaped by their womanhood. So I hope that WIPNYC, raises a lot of questions and that all of you try answer them for yourselves.

