I just want to give a special thanks to Casey, Alys, and everyone from SlideLuck Potshow Detroit. It means a lot that my project got its public viewing premier in my hometown, and that my parents got to be there. This Saturday is the Chicago Potshow debut, it should be really fun and I encourage anyone in the area to bake some cookies and head over (and I believe there will be plenty of alcohol involved.)

I am so impressed with the new and innovative ways people are finding to show photography. Humble Arts, Hey Hot Shots and SlideShow Potluck all provide great opportunities for artists to show work in a group and online setting. If you are working on a long term project, which takes a while to get to gallery/publication ready, these are wonderful ways to show work and get feedback along the way. What I was alluding to in my “Blog or not to Blog” post was not that Mr. Patterson was wrong to quit blogging, but to point out that even if there are an over-abundance of photo blogs, I think there is enough of value coming from them to make it worth sifting through the less successful attempts. The sad thing about Speak, See Remember going on hiatus, is that Christian had one of the most original voices and best graphic presentations in the blogoshere. But if he is taking a break to shoot more I can understand that entirely. But I continue to think that the community created online is well worth the influx of boring blogs that are really just being used as vehicles for self-promotion or bragging platforms.

And now back to me and my photos;)

SlideLuck Potshow Chicago

FEB 2ND AT MADRON GALLERY

1000 WEST NORTH AVENUE, THIRD FLOOR, CHICAGO,IL

POTLUCK STARTS AT 7PM, SLIDESHOW AT 9PM.

FOR QUESTIONS OR INFORMATION, EMAIL SLPSCHICAGO@GMAIL.COM OR VISIT WWW.SLIDESHOWPOTLUCK.COM

