All right I am not ashamed to admit it, I want to be ‘found’ – don’t we all? Why else we go through the horror of making promos, websites, calling strangers, etc, and risking rejection, humiliation and criticism. So I want my work to be discovered. That’s right – I am saying out loud. So thank you A Photo Editor for making me come out and ask. I see you have added a new device for people to upload links to their sites. I fear you be so inundated with links that you will have stopped looking by tomorrow. But I am posting some of my commissioned work on the blog, and I guess I will start putting of more of my own work. I just don’t want it to become the All About Me & Pictures blog, I kind of hate those. But I hope you take a look. And yes, feel free to tell your friends, you know the ones who also hire photogs.

 

Finding New Photographers

November 14th, 2007 There is nothing better in this business than finding and hiring new talent and getting back an amazing shoot. Nothing. Conversely there’s nothing worse than a failed shoot from someone you just hired for the first time. Ahhhhhh the highs and the lows. I probably hire 2-8 new peopleevery issue… whaaaaaaaaaa, 2-8 N.E.W.? That’s right people, a regular shooter gets 2-4 assignments a year, that’s just how I roll. The proces or finding someone new can get a little “CSI.” The method that requires the least amount of effort is to poach someone from a magazine I respect. That’s too easy, so if I really want to earn my paycheck I put together a case based on available evidence that tells me if a photographer is able to deliver the results I’m looking for. It all starts the first time I see a photograph I like taken by someone I’ve never heard of (this is actually somewhat rare). I write the name down on my list and begin collecting evidence. A name can go on the list and it could be years before I’ve built enough evidence or found the right project that triggers an assignment so there’s a lot of names in various stages of case building.

Hey I am all for an editor who will look at my work and pay me money to do what I love

reception.jpg

lobby.jpg

conferenceroom.jpg

titanroom.jpg

