The blogosphere is full of ‘best of’ lists and rankings. The blog is a perfect venue for this type of information. So I thought it would be nice to create a women in the history of photography list. I rarely read an interview where a photographer, male or female, cites a woman as an influence. The exceptions is perhaps Diane Arbus. And I have always found the sources on this subject rather limited. I like the idea of being able to see the range, and ability of female photographers from the advent of the art form.It is not in chronological order or by ranking per say, it is meant as a general source list. I discovered quite a lot of great work while putting it together.

I often wish I had more female mentorship and inspiration, but I guess it is out there if you are willing to look. So hopefully someone will find something or someone inspiring in the list. I am sure I have missed some artists, so feel free to email me your additions.

Julia Margaret Cameron

053juliajacksonjuliamargaretcameron1867.jpg

Camille Silvy

v17.jpg

Clementina, Lady Hawarden

record210525c.gif

Alice Austen

doubledeckerbusnewyorkcyq5.jpg

Doris Ulmann

161.jpg

Gertrude Kasebier

000gaf2y.jpg

Alice Boughton

guilbert1.jpg

Eva Watson-Schutze

2006_0002_0024.jpg

Louise Deshong

43969.jpg

Laura Adams Armer

armergal4-m.jpg

Alice Lex-Neurlinger

Margrethe Mather

mather.jpg

Hannah Hoch

d-dada-panorama.jpg

Florence Henri

henri_apple_w.jpg

Lucia Moholy

ef12lmoholy.jpg

Imogen Cunningham

theunmadebed.jpg

Tina Modotti

modotti_mother_child.jpg

Ilse Bing

8949-large.jpg

Bernice Abbott

cny0927.jpg

Margaret Bourke-White

mbw-depression.jpg

Marion Post Wolcott

800px-marion_post_wolcott_cross_roads_store.jpg

Dorothea Lange

migratory-mother-texas.jpg

Helen Levitt

artwork_images_138991_163502_helen-levitt.jpg

Inge Morath

pgp-2811.jpg

Lotte Jacobi

selfportrait.jpg

Barbara Morgan

morgan2000_2.jpg

Carlotta Corporan

churchlights.jpg

Lillian Bassman

plate11.jpg

Lisette Model

111394.jpg

Laura Gilpin

fig29.jpg

Louise Dahl Wolfe

night_bather_b.jpg

Diane Arbus

1_arbus.jpg

Thanks to Joerg Colberg, I somehow forget Lee Miller, and for suggesting,  Martine Franck and Ruth Bernhard

Ms. Miller

nc0047-12.jpg

Part Two – Coming Soon….

 

 

 

 

 

