I came across this post from Christian Patterson on Speak See Remember, and felt kind of turned off. While I understand it must be strange for those select few who started the whole fine-art blogging community to see it grow to such size (see the Jackanory’s blogroll) But both his sign off from blogging and Alec Soth’s to me seemed very much about something the art world is very good at, creating elite and exclusionary institutions. Gallery’s, Museum’s, and publications are difficult if not impossible to penetrate. Of course once you are there, I hear the MOMA dinner’s are like the middle school lunch room, in terms of who sits where, and who is the popular kid. But there is definitely an “inside” and “outside” in the art world. Once you have made it, you are invited in, whether you can stay is another matter. What bothered me about Patterson’s blog, was that it seems to miss the whole point of the internet and blogging. It is by its nature the most open and democratic of forums. It allows people who would otherwise probably never be in contact, because of geography or where they in the pursuit to trade information and ideas. I think it is great to read what art students think, commercial photographers and fine-artists who are both established and on their way. So can there ever be too many blogs? If you answer that question, I feel that you create a hierarchy of information. That is to say, you imply that one person’s thoughts or opinions are more valuable than another’s. But this is incorrect, because the expression of them is equally valuable, whether you find them valuable is up to you. The internet is a free forum, we can choose to read or not read any blog or site we chose. I personally like getting inside the heads of others and feeling like I am part of a community. There are enough curators in the world, I think this is one place that anyone and everyone should have a voice. We can decide to listen or not.

twenty6.jpg

